École Normale Supérieure de Lyon

École Normale Supérieure de Lyon

The École normale supérieure de Lyon (also known as ENS Lyon, ENSL or Normale Sup’ Lyon) is a highly selective grande école located in Lyon, France. It is one of France’s four Écoles normales supérieures, training researchers and teachers in the sciences and the humanities.

According to the Times Higher Education rankings of universities in 2010, ENS Lyon was ranked as one of the top 3 French universities along with École Normale Supérieure (Paris) and École Polytechnique, and also the 100th best university in the world.

As part of France’s process of decentralisation, the scientific departments moved to Lyon in 1987, with the creation of the École Normale Supérieure de Lyon.

Humanities students remained in what was called the ENS de Fontenay/St Cloud. In 2000, the humanities were transferred to the École Normale Supérieure Lettres et Sciences Humaines, also located in the Gerland district.

On 1 January 2010, the scientific branch and the arts, humanities and social sciences branch merged to become a single institution, retaining the name École Normale Supérieure de Lyon.

  • Biology 
  • Chemistry 
  • Computer Science 
  • Earth Sciences 
  • Mathematics 
  • Physics