MacEwan University

MacEwan University

MacEwan University is a post-secondary educational institution located in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

MacEwan University is the largest transfer-in post-secondary institution in Alberta. It offers nine baccalaureate degrees, two applied degrees and more than 40 diploma and certificate programs. The university’s five faculties and schools offer programming in fine arts and communications, health and community studies, liberal arts and sciences, nursing, and business.

Hundreds of noncredit professional and personal development courses are offered on a part-time basis in addition to programming for university and college preparation and English-as-a-Second-Language courses. During the 2014-2015 academic year, 19,606 full- and part-time students were registered in credit programs.

Established in 1971 as Grant MacEwan Community College, the institution was named after Dr. J.W. Grant MacEwan, author, educator and former lieutenant governor of Alberta. The college was established by the Government of Alberta to fill a perceived need for college-level programs that focused on career development. Initial educational offerings included one and two-year certificate and diploma programs.

School of Arts and Science

School of Business

School of Continuing Education

School of Fine Arts and Communications

School of Health and Community Studies

School of Nursing