Queen’s University Belfast

Queen’s University Belfast

Queen’s University Belfast (informally Queen’s or QUB) is a public research university in Belfast, Northern Ireland. The university was chartered in 1845, and opened in 1849 as “Queen’s College, Belfast”.

The university forms the focal point of the Queen’s Quarter area of the city, one of Belfast’s six cultural districts. It offers academic degrees at various levels and across a broad subject range, with over 300 degree programmes available.

Academic life at Queen’s is organised into fifteen schools across three faculties. The three faculties are 

the Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences, 

the Faculty of Engineering & Physical Sciences 

the Faculty of Medicine, Health & Life Sciences.