Sofia University

Sofia University

  Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski” (Bulgarian: Софийски университет „Св. Климент Охридски“, Sofijski universitet „Sv. Kliment Ohridski“) is the oldest higher education institution in Bulgaria.

  Founded on 1 October 1888, the edifice of the university was constructed between 1924 and 1934 with the financial support of the brothers Evlogi Georgiev and Hristo Georgiev (whose sculptures are now featured on its façade) and has an area of 18,624 m² and a total of 324 premises. The university has 16 faculties and three departments, where over 21,000 students receive their education. The current rector is Anastas Gerdzhikov.

     Sofia University offers a wide range of degrees in 16 faculties:

Faculty of Biology

Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy

Faculty of Classical and Modern Philology

Faculty of Economics and Business Administration

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Geology and Geography

Faculty of History

Faculty of Journalism and Mass Communication

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics

Faculty of Philosophy

Faculty of Physics

Faculty of Pre-school and Primary School Education

Faculty of Slavic Studies

Faculty of Theology

Faculty of Medicine