Sumqayit State University

Sumqayit State University

   Sumqayit State University (Azerbaijani: Sumqayıt Dövlət Universiteti), sometimes written as Sumgayit State University, or Sumgait State University, is a public university in Sumqayit, Azerbaijan. The university has seven departments and approximately 4000 students.

   Founded in 1961, it operated as a remote branch of the Azerbaijan State Oil Academy until 1992 when it became independent as the Azerbaijani Industrial Institute. On June 13, 2000, it was renamed into Sumgayit State University.

   More than 3500 students are trained for bachelor’s degrees in 17 directions and 200 students for master’s degrees in 28 specialties in seven departments:



Physics and Electrical Power Engineering

Chemistry and biology

Economics and Management


History and geography