Tampere University of Technology

Tampere University of Technology

Tampere University of Technology (TUT) (Finnish: Tampereen teknillinen yliopisto (TTY)) is Finland’s second-largest university in engineering sciences. The university is located in Hervanta, a suburb of Tampere.

The university’s statutory duty is to pursue research and give the highest education in its field. The research, conducted by some 1,800 staff and faculty members, mostly focuses on applied science and often has close ties to many different companies (such as Nokia). Located next to the university campus is a Technology Centre Hermia, including a large Nokia research facility. The yearly budget of the university is some 147 million euros. TUT is one of the only two Finnish universities which operate as foundation. Close to 50% of its budget is external funding. According to Times Higher Education, TUT ranks 11th in the world, and 4th in Europe, for industry collaboration.

The university will merge with University of Tampere to create the new Tampere University on 1 January 2019. Together with Tampere University of Applied Sciences, Tampere University will constitute the Tampere higher education community.

Tampere University of Technology comprises five faculties:

Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and Engineering

Faculty of Business and Built Environment

Faculty of Computing and Electrical Engineering

Faculty of Engineering Sciences

Faculty of Natural Sciences