University of Alberta

University of Alberta

The University of Alberta (also known as U of A and UAlberta) is a public research university located in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. It was founded in 1908 by Alexander Cameron Rutherford, the first premier of Alberta, and Henry Marshall Tory, its first president. Its enabling legislation is the Post-secondary Learning Act.

The university comprises four campuses in Edmonton, the Augustana Campus in Camrose, and a staff centre in downtown Calgary. The original north campus consists of 150 buildings covering 50 city blocks on the south rim of the North Saskatchewan River valley, directly across from downtown Edmonton. 39,000 students from Canada and 150 other countries participate in 400 programs in 18 faculties.

The University of Alberta is a major economic driver in Alberta. The university’s impact on the Alberta economy is an estimated $12.3 billion annually, or five per cent of the province’s gross domestic product.

The university has been recognized by the Academic Ranking of World Universities, the QS World University Rankings and the Times Higher Education World University Rankings as one of the top five universities in Canada and one of the top 100 universities worldwide. According to the 2014 QS World University Rankings, the top Faculty Area at the University of Alberta is Arts and Humanities (ranked 89th in the world), and the top-ranked Subject is English Language and Literature (22nd in the world).

  • Agricultural Life and Environmental Sciences 
  • Alberta School of Business 
  • Arts 
  • Augustana Campus 
  • Campus Saint-Jean 
  • Education 
  • Engineering 
  • Extension 
  • Graduate Studies and Research 
  • Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation 
  • Law 
  • Medicine & Dentistry 
  • Native Studies 
  • Nursing 
  • Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences 
  • Public Health, School of 
  • Rehabilitation Medicine 
  • Science 
  • St. Joseph’s College