University of Melbourne

University of Melbourne

   The University of Melbourne is a public research university located in Melbourne, Australia. Founded in 1853, it is Australia’s second oldest university and the oldest in Victoria. Melbourne’s main campus is located in Parkville, an inner suburb north of the Melbourne central business district, with several other campuses located across Victoria.

   Melbourne is a sandstone university and a member of the Group of Eight, Universitas 21 and the Association of Pacific Rim Universities. Since 1872 various residential colleges have become affiliated with the university. 

   The university is organised into faculties and graduate schools, these are;

Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning

Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Business and Economics

Melbourne Graduate School of Education

Melbourne School of Engineering

Melbourne Law School

Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences

Faculty of Victorian College of the Arts and Melbourne Conservatorium of Music